Thursday, December 8, 2016

Ghana Election History

To put yesterday's election in context, here is Ghana's presidential election history since multiparty elections were re-instituted in 1992. There is regular alternation between the two main parties, and the vote share has been very close since 2000.

When no candidate wins 50% in the first round, there is a runoff between the top two candidates.

Counting for yesterday's election is still in progress, but Nana Akufo-Addo (NPP) is reportedly in the lead with 49.5% of the vote, so a second round may be required. In 2009, the NPP candidate won in the first round but the incumbent NDC candidate won in the second round.

John Dramani Mahama (NDC) 50.7%
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP) 47.7%

John Atta-Mills (NDC) Round 1: 47.9%  Round 2: 50.2%
Nana A D Akufo-Addo (NPP) Round 1: 49.1%  Round 2: 49.8%

John Agyekum Kufuor (NPP) 52.5%
John Atta-Mills (NDC) 44.6% 

John Agyekum Kufuor (NPP) Round 1: 48.2%   Round 2: 56.9%
John Atta-Mills (NDC) Round 1: 44.5%   Round 2: 43.1%

Jerry John Rawlings (NDC) 57.4%
John Kufuor (NPP) 39.7%

Jerry John Rawlings (NDC) 58.40%
Albert Adu Boahen (NPP) 30.29%

No comments:

Post a Comment